Be My Valentine Chocolate Brownies

Hi guys, well love has been in the air all week here at Ballyknocken House & Cookery School in preparation for Valentine’s Day as we baked ourselves into a Valentine frenzy for all our lovely guests and clients. One of my favourite treats to rustle up are my Be My Valentine Chocolate brownies. They are so easy to make and promise to be a great hit with kids, and the big kids in your life. I had a fantastic opportunity to bake them them at one of my fun cookery demonstrations for Whirlpool Ireland in Arnotts Department Store this week. They went down a treat !

In other news I am so excited to be part of the Italian Food & Wine Weekend at Renvyle House next week, I hear there will even be a visit by the Italian Ambassador which is excellent news considering all things Italian are so close to my heart.  In my cookery demonstration in the wonderful west I plan to feature some of my favourite Italian classics so I really hope to see you all there. I really enjoy my off site cookery demonstrations so please feel free to contact me if you would like me book one.

This week we were also extremely happy to have The Spinning Wheel amazing team of chef’s in with us for a fabulous Italian cookery consultancy in the Ballyknocken Cookery School. We had so much fun in the Italian Master Class and what a lovely talented bunch of people they were. Watch this space for photos and for news of their opening night in Patricks Street, Templemore. I am more than happy  to consult on any new or existing project so please do get in contact if you would like more information.

So that is all the news for now, I leave with this delicious recipe for my mouth-watering brownies. Enjoy and I hope you all feel the love this weekend.

Be my Valentine hearts

Be my Valentine

CHOCOLATE BROWNIE HEARTS

Makes about 10 depending on the size of the cutter

INGREDIENTS
175g butter
175g chocolate, roughly chopped

300g golden caster sugar

3 eggs, beaten
3 tbsp pistachio nuts, roughly chopped

100g self-raising flour, sifted
4 tbsp cocoa powder

Cocoa powder, for dusting
Raspberries, to serve

PREPARATION
Preheat the oven to 160°C/fan 140°C/gas 4. Line a 25cm x 15cm brownie tin with baking parchment.
Melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl over a saucepan of hot water (bain marie) until smooth. Remove from the heat and stir in the caster sugar, mix well.
Stir in the eggs and chopped pistachio nuts.
Fold in the flour, cocoa powder and pour into the lined brownie tin and carefully smooth. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes until the brownies come away from the sides and the top is crusty. Leave to cool in the tin for 20 minutes before transferring onto the cooling rack.
Cool completely before cutting out the heart.
To cut out the heart shapes, using a small to medium heart cutter, pressing the shape out in one direct and then in the opposite direct to use the maximum amount of brownie cake.
Place on a piece of parchment and dust with cocoa powder.
Serve with raspberries.

TIP
Use the brownie off cuts, roughly chopped, and combine with a vanilla ice cream, spoon into a mould and there you have another really delicious dessert.

Leave a Reply

